Basic Auditory Anatomy

The ear is a collection of different systems that work to collect, amplify/increase and filter sound. Audiologists evaluate the ear in three main parts: the outer ear, the middle ear and the inner ear.

The outer ear (or pinna) collects and amplifies sound. The outer ear includes the pinna, external auditory canal and the tympanic membrane (ear drum).

The middle ear includes the eardrum and the ossicles (three small bones known as the malleus, incus and stapes).

The inner ear includes the hearing organ (called the cochlea) and the auditory nerves that lead to the brain.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: